Pinstripe Bowl & All-Star Teams


Clearfield will be well-represented in the Bronx on December 27th as two former Bison standouts will be on the field for the New Era Pinstripe Bowl held at Yankee Stadium.  Christian Lezzer, a linebacker for Boston College, and Seth Ford, a safety for Penn State, both are freshmen who played big roles on Clearfield’s 13-1 team in 2013.  Lezzer and Ford are the first Clearfield graduates to appear in an NCAA FBS bowl game since Andrew Janocko played in the BBVA Compass Bowl for Pitt against Kentucky at the end of the 2010 season.  Lezzer ranks second all-time in Clearfield history for rushing yards and holds the school record for career sacks.  Ford is the Bison’s all-time leader in career tackles.  Best of luck to both former Bison.


The PIAA championships wrapped up this past weekend, meaning that the football calendar has moved into awards season.  All-State teams should be coming out in the next couple of weeks, but Clearfield has already been recognized in the league and district awards.  The Mountain League and have both released all-star and awards lists for this season:

Mountain League All-Stars

1st Team:

C – Dylan Fenton

G, DL – Zac Hefferan

T – Nate Lash

WR, DB – Ryan Lezzer

RB, LB – Erik Sellers

DL – Brian Thorpe

LB – Nick Kovalick

DB – Seth Caldwell

2nd Team:

TE – Kovalick

RB – Caldwell

K – Spencer Herrington

DE – Dustin Maines Postseason Football Awards

– Erik Sellers tied for 2nd place in District MVP voting

– Dylan Fenton finished 3rd in District Rookie of the Year

– Nate Lash was 3rd in District Offensive Lineman of the Year

– Spencer Herrington was runner-up in Special Teams Player of the Year


Player of the Year (2): Dave Richards, 2002 & Jarrin Campman, 2008

Offensive Player of the Year (1): Christian Lezzer, 2013

Coach of the Year (1): Tim Janocko, 2010

Special Teams Player of the Year (1): Dave Richards, 2001

Offensive Lineman of the Year (4): Jon Altemus, 2002; Nick Redden, 2008; Hunter Keith, 2012-2013

Individual Performance of the Year (2): Dave Richards, 2002; Jarrin Campman, 2008

Game of the Year (1): Clearfield 19, Indian Valley 13, 2007

Special Contributor Award (1): Bob Love, 2010

A full history of the Football Awards can be found here.